Down And Dirty With Lissa Matthews

Hey there! It’s Down and Dirty Day, so I asked erotic romance author Lissa Matthews three nosy questions. However, before we get to those, I’d like to tell y’all about her latest re-release Melting Jane (some of you may have read it as Sugar Rush). I read it on the plane on the way to a conference and was flying high on sexual chemistry the whole way. Not only that, I was totally jonesing for one of the sweet and spicy truffles the heroine keeps popping into her mouth while she’s trying to resist the cowboy surfer hero. My mouth watered just thinking about them!

Since I don’t do denial very well, I decided to create a recipe for Jane’s truffles. No, really! It was all for Jane! I modified my Below the Border Aphrodisiac Hot Chocolate recipe and then used my husband for a taste tester. I believe in sharing. I also believe in multi-tasking myself into a win/win situation. I hope you’ll read Melting Jane, make Jane’s truffles and do a little melting yourself…

Melting Jane Blurb

Graham Hall is a twenty-six year old Texan with the job of his dreams. He’s just finished his latest travel article and has earned some personal down time. With six months left on his cabin lease in the Colorado Rockies, Graham chooses to stick around and soon finds himself set up with a feisty, down on her luck in the love department candy maker named Jane.

Jane hates driving in the mountains in winter and isn’t used to being outside the kitchen, but when she arrives at the small isolated cabin and gets a look at it’s tenant, she quickly forgets all about that. Jane is tongue-tied and ticked off. She’s been tricked.

Confrontations, slamming doors, and an extra cheese pizza later, Graham is caught up in Jane’s tart tongue and curvy body. She denies her desire for him more times than she can count, and when she finally gives in, she is rewarded with scorching hot sex and a bliss she couldn’t have imagined for herself.

Graham’s persistence and unrelenting pursuit leads Jane to believe that maybe life doesn’t have to revolve around chocolate truffles, but rather should revolve around a delicious, well traveled, sexy younger man.

Melting Jane’s Truffles

4 ounces heavy cream

2 Tablespoons honey

1 Tablespoon butter

½ teaspoon red chili flakes

¼ – ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

2 cups bittersweet chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli)

1 cup chocolate discs for coating (I used Make & Mold. Wilton works, too.)

  1.  Bring cream, honey, butter, chili flakes and cinnamon to a simmer. Remove from heat. Cover. Steep 10 minutes.
  2.  Put chocolate into a bowl. Bring cream mixture up to a boil. Strain cream mixture over chocolate. Stir until smooth.
  3.  Let cool to room temperature. (I left mine, covered, overnight.) Scoop into 1 Tablespoon-size balls and roll between your palms until each ball is round.
  4.  Melt chocolate coating discs and lay a piece of parchment or waxed paper on the counter. (This is the fun part. My kids couldn’t believe I was doing this.) Dollop about 2 Tablespoons melted chocolate coating into one palm. Touch your palms together. Then pick up a truffle ball with your fingertips and put it in your palm. Use your palms to coat each truffle with chocolate and then roll it onto the parchment. Do it again, replenishing the chocolate coating in your palms as necessary, until all the truffles are coated. The beauty of chocolate coating is that it doesn’t need to be tempered and it will set at room temperature. It isn’t as delicious as “real” chocolate but it is MUCH easier to use. Practicality rules in my kitchen! These truffles can be spiced up if you like more heat – just add more chili flakes or let them steep longer. This amount passed the taste test with 2 out of three kids!

And now for the nosy questions for Lissa!

1. If you lined up your heroes from all your books, who would you have sex with first…and why?

LM: Decker. The man knows how to rock a belt and get what he wants. He doesn’t give up and he doesn’t back down. (Cracklin Rosie)

2. What is the strangest bit of research you’ve ever done?

LM: I’ll have to think about it. I’m tempted to say Vinter’s piercings, but I’ll think about while driving. (I caught her on her way to New Orleans for the Authors After Dark conference. Vinter’s the hero of Simple Need)

3. Which of your heroines has qualities you would most like to have?

LM: Heroines… I’m a lot like Rosie (Cracklin Rosie) and Bailey (Pink Buttercream Frosting), mainly because they’re both smartasses and they know what they like. They both love the kitchen and I do too. I’ll be a chef in my next life. They want to give up control. They want that trust. But they want their kinks and needs to strengthen them in who they are, to ground them. I get that because I do too. However, at the same time, I wish I could be Elise for just one night to have Vinter in all his colorful and pierced glory.

So there you have it, folks! Great books to satisfy your craving to get down and dirty…enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

