The Hamster Wheel Versus The Big Picture

Okay, I did it! I put all three kids on the school bus last week, and I waved goodbye. I was shocked to cry a little as I walked back home. I’ve been waiting for this day for a while. Lest ye think I am an evil, witchy momma – I have spent a decade working part-time so that we never had to pay for daycare. My husband and I passed the kids back and forth and it has been perfect… and perfectly exhausting.

Somewhere along the way I picked up three part-time jobs and I love them all, especially the writing. In fact, I’m so freakishly obsessed with getting the next manuscript in to Samhain that it only just occurred to me that I don’t have to spend all day every day writing while the kids are at school! I could go to the movies. I could nap. I could read all day. Perhaps I’ll paint the kitchen and take care of some of the other home repairs that have piled up while we were waiting for the time and money to tackle them. (Although I think those repairs might be like having children. There is NEVER enough time or money.) Whoa, this freedom gives me a weird and wiggly feeling inside.

Yes, I know I’ll get used to it. 🙂 I tend to hunker down in my cave, and it’s a fact that I have a huge amount of non-negotiable work to get done by the end of October. If left to my own devices, I will work all the time. (Luckily, my husband has devices that he can use to pry me away from my computer.) Working all the time is not good for me! It makes my back hurt from hunching. I miss family fun. No matter how much I enjoy reaching tangible goals, the rest of my spirit withers. I am determined to stay balanced. For me, that means I’m going to do a few small home projects, get to the gym twice a week and make sure I hug the kids a lot WHILE I meet my deadlines. I will write new words on a new work every day and not just keep up with edits.

Now part of this reads like a recipe for disaster – I will try to do too much. As my friend the Lady-like Pervert says in her post My Cup Runneth Over, you only have so much water in your pitcher to pour into your various glasses. So, I may run out of water. But at least the kids will be happy, the house will be clean and my hips will be Zumba-ed! Join me, people. Seek balance. Keep your eye on the big picture. Don’t forget you ARE the pitcher. In the immortal words of Vivian/Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman, “Take care of you!”

(And if you have a sexy title for a blast from the past story about a bisexual empath, please share it with me. Please! Crystal needs a good title…)

Leave a Reply

