Truth or Dare: Scarlett Parrish

Happy Monday! I’ve got a little something different going on today. My Twitter-friend Scarlett Parrish just had a new book come out from Loose-Id – A LITTLE DEATH. I’m not finished reading it yet, but I’m far enough in to know it has the good Scarlett stuff – a heroine who doesn’t take any shit and keeps the reader privy to her inner fuck-off monologue, a hero that is ungodly, unworldly attractive, a dark, complicated, (dare I say) conflicted tone, and sex scenes that soak my panties. SOLD!

I’m enjoying A LITTLE DEATH and I don’t want to rush it but in my forays on Twitter, I’ve become fascinated with the Scarlett Parrish. I think she puts a lot of herself into her heroines. In fact, the first thing I consciously noticed about her work was her incredible voice. (Somehow, I got sucked into reading an excerpt – probably on Twitter – and BANG! I was in this guy’s head, and I met Daniel Fucking Cross. I had to have him, just like poor Reece in BY THE BOOK.) Some authors have the ability to sink a reader so deep into a character that the reader becomes the character. Not an easy trick, that. Anyway, sometimes I read her tweets, and I think, “Whoa! Inflammatory!” But that’s just her – and I like that. She doesn’t pussyfoot around trying not to piss people off, which is why I thought she might be up for a little game of Truth or Dare.

Since we are playing this game across oceans and time zones, I decided Scarlett would say Truth first. I can do that. It’s my blog! 🙂

Miranda: A LITTLE DEATH is a vampire story. Which came first – the idea for the book or the hungry vampire market? Do you write to the market or do you write what you want and try to find a market for it?

Scarlett:

Tricky question. I’d say neither. I like being awkward, after all. 😀 I started writing A Little Death, or the book that became it, seventeen years ago. All I knew was that it would be about vampires. I had no plan for the book, nor any notion of the market (which, let’s face it, has changed a lot in the intervening years). After six months I came up with 150k words of handwritten crud, which I eventually binned and rewrote from memory several times. Each version was different — and shorter! Characters were dropped, new ones drafted in, the setting changed, the female MC’s name changed, her parents no longer appeared in the book, she lost two ex-boyfriends, one of whom became a fellow student… For whatever reason, I just couldn’t let this book go. I recognized it needed work, but loved the basic premise — a mortal woman’s involvement with a male vampire. A common trope, but I wanted to put my own spin on it. Somehow.

Then I realized two things: the vampire Cian was actually the bad guy, meaning that Mallory needed a new vampiric lover…and the story needed to be an erotic romance.

I write to the market in that I know who my audience is: bookworm perverts. But when it comes to which sub-genre of erotic romance each story is, whether it be paranormal, het, M/M, menage…that’s where I make the choice. Filth finds its own market! 😀

Miranda: And thank gods for that. See why I love her, people? Smart, talented and filthy of mind. All right, darling: truth or dare?

Scarlett: I’ll say dare, even though I’ll probably regret it.

Miranda: I dare you to give Georgia from BY THE BOOK her own story. Ever think about it?

Scarlett: You’re the first person to say she should have one. Everyone else who’s nagged me for a sequel has focused on Daniel and Reece, but their story’s told. By the Book is about how they get together, not their entire relationship start-to-finish. After all, those boys deserve some privacy, right?

So, I have to say — no, I haven’t ever thought of it. But now you’ve put the possibility in my head, anything could happen.

Truth!

Miranda: How do you write sex scenes? I know I stare off into space, getting desperate, typing furiously, then staring off into space some more. What about you?

Scarlett: Pretty much the same way. With sex and any other type of scene, I watch it in my head as if there’s a DVD player in there and I just write down what I see. When it comes to sex scenes, if I’m not wriggling in my seat, in severe need of some ‘me-time’, then something’s wrong.

Stop and stare, type, get distracted, stop and stare some more…yep, sounds like me. 🙂

Dare!

Miranda: I’m jealous! I can’t see pictures in my head it’s all words, 24/7, yammering away up there, driving me nutso.

Okay, last one – an easy one for you. Go forth. Write more filth and release it into the world to find its home in the minds of bookworm perverts. I dare you! 😀

Scarlett: Funny you should say that; I’m working on more filth as we speak!

Scarlett, thanks for playing with me! Since you’re such a game girl, I will now share you with the crowd. Readers? Any burning questions or creative dares for my captive friend Scarlett Parrish? Find her here this week, perpetually on Twitter as @scarlettparrish, on her own blog, or on the Loose-Id website where you may buy her books! (You can get most of them other places too.)

Just in case your finger is tired (From clicking links, you pervert), here’s the blurb for A LITTLE DEATH.

Seeing dead people is all very well…unless one of them wants to kill you.

To Mallory Sharpe, vampires are a fact of life. They exist, walk the streets, and for the most part mind their own business. As a second-year university student, she doesn’t pay the undead much attention until she meets Jonathan Cutler. He has needs, and blood is only one. The other, Mallory is more than willing to help him with. After all, he has but one rule: to never spend more than one night with a woman. He won’t get attached, or consciously put anyone’s life in danger.

Another vampire, Cian Ambrose, isn’t so troubled by conscience. Mallory’s fair game, a weapon to taunt Jonathan with. In fact, it might be fun to make her his grail, or living blood donor, and Cian Ambrose doesn’t take kindly to the word no. He hasn’t heard it often in his one hundred and fifty years and it usually results in the other person ending up dead.

So with Mallory’s tolerance for undead guys running very low, Jonathan has to re-gain her trust, stop Cian killing her, oh…and for God’s sake, not fall in love.

Publisher’s Note: This book contains explicit sexual content and graphic language.

And thank goodness! XOXO!

Leave a Reply

