John Mayer, Creativity, Social Media and Heartbreak

Hey there, y’all!

I do know it isn’t morning. I’m blogging late today because my alter ego had to write a dreaded synopsis. I’m also late because in the back of my mind I’ve been thinking about John Mayer’s Berklee clinic. Actually, I’ve been thinking about it ever since the link went viral on Twitter. Ironic, right? Mayer talks about how Twitter, Facebook and blogging began to become his primary form of artistic expression while his music fell by the wayside…

Now until last week, my only knowledge of John Mayer was that he’s popular, cute and he broke Taylor Swift’s heart and she wrote “Dear John,” which broke my heart. If you are a creative type, go ahead and click that link above and tell me what you think about creativity and social media.

Hmm… I know I put as much thought into a blog as I do a scene. Sometimes I erase tweets if I don’t think they are pithy enough. I often interrupt my writing to check my e-mail…

Reading the Berklee student’s blog made me think about something else, too. Now this is all pure conjecture and I admit I don’t know a thing about it, but it’s interesting to think about the Mayer/Swift break-up. She’s so young and it’s fascinating to see how that colors her interpretation and artistic expression. Mayer probably processed the experience differently. I wonder what kind of a song he would write for her and if it would be along the lines of “You’re Welcome.” I’ll even go out on a limb and say my own heartbreaks are pretty darn useful to me now when I’m writing fiction. I won’t go so far as to say thank you to Mr. It’s Not You, It’s Me or Mr. I’m Still In Love With My Ex or Mr. I’ve Lost Interest, See Ya or Mr. I’m Sorry You Feel That Way but I am grateful they put me through my emotional paces. Not as grateful as I am that I met Mr. Perfect, but you want to know a secret? He broke up with his girlfriend for me.

With that said and shared, I’m going to dive back into editing. After I submit the manuscript, I’ll finish the superhero story I’m submitting for the Samhain anthology call. I can’t wait to tell you more about that when it’s done! I am shockingly excited about this story, but I’m not going to breath another word about it until I hit send… and then I’ll finish Crystal’s story.

Happy week, y’all!

Leave a Reply

