Talk To Me: Cassandra Carr

Guess what? My friend and WNYRW chaptermate Cassandra Carr has a new release from Loose-Id!

It’s Hot!

Radio producer Jamie MacMahon is in over her head with ex-hockey player-turned host Drew Milan. She’s attracted to the man who earned the nickname “the Beast” during his playing days from the moment they meet, but he’s her boss and she loves her new job. She’s made plenty of mistakes with men and loathes the thought of being yet another plaything for Drew, a man who sleeps with women but doesn’t date them.

Drew doesn’t want to lose a great producer and knows Jamie deserves a real relationship, but can’t stay away from the sizzling chemistry they create every time they’re together. Jamie’s insecurities and the very real prospect of having to leave a great job if this thing doesn’t work out clash hard with Drew’s fears about opening his heart and the possibility of losing his first competent producer. Nothing’s going to get resolved if one of them won’t say it: “Come on, baby, talk to me.”

Publisher’s Note: This book contains explicit sexual content, graphic language, and situations that some readers may find objectionable: D/s elements, fetish, spanking, strong language (“dirty” talk).

Dirty talk! Yay! I read it a few times before it was published, and each time it got hotter. I can only imagine the heat index now – but I won’t have to imagine for long. I downloaded it yesterday! 😀

If you’ve ever loved a bad boy, you’ll like Drew “The Beast” Milan. If you’ve ever wanted to put a bad boy in his place, you’ll really like Jamie MacMahon. Drew and Jamie throw down, go down and never slow down as they explore the attraction between them. Over and over again. With skill and enthusiasm. And great shoes. And apparently, a spanking too!

Since Cassandra’s my buddy, she agreed to answer a few questions for me:

Miranda: Every story I’ve written was inspired by something or someone. What was your kernel of inspiration for “Talk To Me?”

Cassandra: The concept of being seduced by a voice. The rest of the background for the story flowed from there. I started to think about what profession a person with a nice voice might have and that led me to radio. Then if he was a talk show host, what could she do? Could she be a listener? Maybe, but that wouldn’t throw her into his path easily. That led me to making her his producer. I mean, can you imagine having to listen to this awesome voice for twenty-plus hours every single week? Yowza.

Miranda: That reminds me of one of the first conversations you and I ever had together. We were sitting at Smokey Bones after a WNYRW meeting and I asked you about your WIP. You started telling me about Talk To Me. Do you remember that? The scene you told me about was the one where Jamie is masturbating to a recording of Drew’s voice because she just can’t take it anymore. I love the premise of a sexy voice too, but not quite as much as Jamie! I’m also a big fan of epiphanies. Did you have any writing or life-related epiphanies while working on this book?

Cassandra: It was while I was writing this book that I really figured out I was a writer. Not just “someone who wrote while she did other things” but “a writer”. At my wonderful husband’s urging I stopped looking for other projects and focused exclusively on writing.

Miranda: That’s a crazy moment, isn’t it? However, you can’t focus exclusively on writing. You are a wife, a mommy and you do have another job. Do you have any tips for challenged multi-taskers like me? I’m always looking for new ways to keep it all going on at the same time.

Cassandra: Learn to type faster. Seriously, I don’t know. I feel like I could be so much more productive than I am. I just try to make writing a priority. It is my profession, after all, even if I do it from home, sometimes while my toddler is running around in front of me. I don’t watch a whole lot of television – barring Sabres games, which I try not to miss. I do read a lot, but that’s research. Really…

Miranda: (note to self: learn to type, period.) Moment of truth – it boggles my mind that you write so fast and I’m not talking words per minute. How do you do that? Do you ever get “stuck?”

Cassandra: Sure I get stuck – everybody does. But I read some good advice about writer’s block – just keep writing. And it works. As far as how fast I write, when I get going and the words are flowing I can write pages and pages. I think my record is something like 6-7,000 words in one day. However, I should note that it’s unusual for me to write that much in a day. When I’m writing a first draft I try to write around 10,000 words a week. Sometimes I write more, sometimes I write less.

Miranda: And now for a really important question – what did your husband say when he saw you in your corset after our little shopping trip?

Cassandra: He said, “Let’s go upstairs!” What did your husband say when he saw you in yours?

Miranda: “I hope you don’t expect to take that off anytime soon.”

And there you have it folks, Cassandra Carr talking to me about Talk To Me! I hope you enjoyed our chat as much as we did. For your reading pleasure, Talk To Me is available from Loose-Id! Feel free to report back and tell me all about your favorite parts… talk slow, okay? 😉

2 comments

  1. I’ve been waiting for this 🙂 I can’t wait to read this – I love the concept of being seduced by a voice. There’s a few voices I can think of that do it for me …(sigh).

Leave a Reply

