Chocolate Is Not Better Than Sex

It’s just different.

I love chocolate. Every kind – white, milk, semi-sweet, bittersweet, even unsweetened when I’m feeling hardcore. Although I do know quite a bit about the good stuff, I’m not a snob. Sure I like my exotic Vosges bars, but I won’t turn down a Hershey’s kiss either. Gimme.

I’ve tried a lot of different things with chocolate over the past fifteen years (get your mind out of the gutter), but there’s one recipe that never gets old – chocolate ganache.

Chocolate ganache (guh-NOSH) is one of the most versatile tools in the pastry kitchen. In it’s warm, liquid form, it can poured over cakes and pastries for a rich, smooth, shiny finish. At room temperature, it can be used as a filling or frosting. Chilled, it can be rolled into truffles. It can even be whipped! (Good chocolate! ;)) No, seriously, at room temperature or just slightly chilled, chocolate ganache can be whipped and used as a filling or frosting.

Chocolate Ganache

1 Cup Heavy Cream

2 Tablespoons Butter

2 Tablespoons Sugar

10 Ounces of Bittersweet Chocolate Chips

Place chocolate chips in a medium bowl.

Heat heavy cream, butter and sugar just to a boil.

Pour cream mixture over the chocolate chips and stir until completely melted. Makes about 2 1/2 cups.

That’s it. So easy and so good. If you are a ganache virgin, start simple. Use room temperature ganache to frost cupcakes. Or have a chocolate fondue party. A spoon works too. If you have specific questions about how to incorporate ganache into your recipe world, I’m happy to help. In fact, I’d love to hear about your perfect chocolate experiences – I’m pervy that way. Call it professional curiosity. How do you like it?

6 comments

  1. I wrote a movie called Chocolate is Not Better than Sex back in 2007, believe it or not, it’s taken all that time to get this far with it. It’s a lot of work to produce a movie when you’re looking for funding, etc…But it will get done soon. And you can find out if this is really true. 😉 lol. I plan to shoot it soon and release in 2014. Wish us luck, we need a ton of support.

Leave a Reply

