Play Through (or You Can Get There From Here)

Ever hit the wall? You bet I have. Actually, I’m feeling a bit that way right now after eating a huge bowl of chili and the rest of the leftover Chinese food. (Should not have eaten the Chinese food.) Now I’m facing a blank computer screen when all I really want to do is lie down on the floor.Play Through

Gotta Play Through.

I think it’s a golf metaphor, but I’ve been using it as my inspirational motto for years. I love it. When I feel like I can’t possibly finish the damn book, in fact I can’t even finish the damn sentence because what I’m writing is utter crap, I tell myself to Play Through. Eventually, the good stuff will find it’s way out of me and onto the page. I can use the crap as a vehicle for getting to there from here. I can ride the crap and then delete it. I can surf it. Lily pad hop it. Skate right over all the crap until I get where I need to be.

Because I want to be there – at the end of the book, the edits, the whatever – and in most cases I’m not going to get there without the crap.

So that’s what I do when I hit the wallI play through. Been doing it for years. For so long that the tape on my little get your butt in gear sign has lost its stickyness. It works for me. Does it work for you? Or do you have some other magical method for getting where you want to go when your wheels spin aimlessly and your gears grind to a halt and you coast right up against that really big wall?

Leave a Reply

