Whip me, beat me… feed me!

Welcome to the first installment of my December blog series! Each Monday leading up to the release of my erotic romance novella BOTTOMS UP from Samhain Publishing, I will post a tried and true aphrodisiac recipe. Why, you ask? Because in the story, my hot tattooed  tough-guy hero cooks for his tiny, yet fierce, dread-locked heroine. (Oh, and I’m a chef.) This week I’ll share my well-tested recipe for Naughty Hottie Chocolate.

A few years ago, a dear friend gave me an exotic brand of hot chocolate for Christmas. When I opened the bag, it looked like chunks of chocolate and thin twigs, not at all like the cocoa powder I was expecting. The preparation involved a lot of whipping and frothing, all part of the fun, and when my husband and I snuggled on the couch with our jaw-droppingly expensive cocoa-of-the-gods, we discovered it was sweet, creamy and spicy. It was also kind of chewy – but in the best possible way – with chocolate and cinnamon in the front and intriguing chili heat in the back. It was also nutty. Addictive. A real treat.

I felt compelled to recreate the recipe at home and I’m thrilled to share it with you. It’s unusual, maybe even weird, but I hope you love it as much as we do.

Naughty Hottie Chocolate

(makes 1 quart)

3 Cups Milk (whatever you’ve got, the richer the yummier)

4 ounces chocolate chips (about 1/3 of a 12 ounce bag, more if you like)

1 Tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4-1/2 teaspoon crushed red chili flakes (how hot do you like it?)

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon vanilla

Garnish: whipped cream (we usually have a can in the fridge, don’t judge), a drizzle of honey, a sprinkle of toasted almonds (slivered, baked at 350 for 7 minutes – don’t skip this part – it totally makes it!)

Here’s what you do: Combine the milk with the cinnamon, vanilla and chili flakes. Heat to scalding. Whisk in the chocolate chips and cocoa powder until all the chocolate melts. Bring it up to perfect hot drinking temperature then strain through a fine strainer (to get the chili flakes out). Pour into mugs and top with whipped cream, honey and toasted almonds. The almonds make it a little chewy, which I think is the best part. Or maybe its the part where the chili flakes make me a little sweaty, mimicking the act of… never mind.

For any science heads out there, here’s how it works:

Chocolate contains phenylethylamine, “the love chemical,” which releases dopamine in the pleasure center of the brain and peaks during orgasm. It also contains tryptophan, a key component of the neurotransmitter serotonin, known to promote a feeling of well-being and relaxation, as well as antioxidants, and theobromine, a substance related to caffeine. Total win.

Chilis are well known for their ability to get you hot, producing a sexy flush on your skin and maybe making you feel a little sweaty. They also cause the body to produce endorphins, natural painkillers to put out the heat for you. Double win.

Cinnamon is thought to increase appetite and produce “heat” in the body.

The scent of vanilla hits the hypothalamus like a qualude, producing instant relaxation, especially in men.

Throw some honey on top, which is full of boron (crucial to the sex hormones) and add a few almonds (symbol of fertility through the ages) and can you say HONEYMOON?

It’s the perfect thing to heat up a cold winter’s night. Give it a try and let me know what you think. In fact, I’d love to hear about any aphrodisiac foods you’ve experienced. Yup, that’s my kink, folks. Sexy food – bring it on!

4 comments

  1. Sounds fabulous! If I had a working fridge, I’d be trying it out, but for now I’m just going to enjoy imagining how wonderful this must taste!

Leave a Reply

