Lately, I’ve been pondering connections…

… and rejections.

There is much written about love at first sight, and I love to read about it. I admire how the great Nora Roberts (just to mention an easy one) creates awareness between her characters from their very first moment together. Oh, it’s delicious that moment of zing! Honesty. Bareness. Recognition. And you know since you are reading a romance there will be a happily ever after for those two lucky lovers.

Ever met someone and felt that flash of recognition? An instant “one of my kind” feeling? That sense of knowing that defies explanation? Ever had it happen alone?

Well, I have. Several times, in fact. Now before you start feeling sorry for me, let me tell you that I married the perfect love of my life. He cooks, he cleans, and he’s more fun than a barrel of monkeys. It’s all good now. That said, I believe it was all the imperfect lovers who came before my husband that made me.

Yes, I love connection. It’s powerful and energetic, but I also get inspired by rejection, by the nots, by the ones who zagged when I zinged. For example, the boy who taught me to kiss, then broke my heart comes to mind every single time my hero and heroine kiss for the first time. God, what a mouth on that boy. I can taste his lips right now. I made a connection with him that still exists for me. Him? *grimace* Not so much.

And then, of course, there is the raging girl crush I had (who am I kidding?) have on a woman I knew in college. She never connected with me, but she absolutely inspires my soon-to-be-published bi-sexy erotic romances. Those might-have-beens swirl inside me and emerge re-written as sexy fiction. And yes, my husband knows about every one of them, and no, he doesn’t mind because he knows they made me. Without them, there would have been no one for him to save, right?

Connection and rejection – both poignant, both powerful, both inspiring. Does this resonate with you? Let’s connect! πŸ˜‰

2 comments

  1. I agree with you connection is so powerful, and important in relationships. So glad that you married the perfect one for you, and you have an open and happy marriage πŸ™‚ look forward to your future posts.

Leave a Reply

